Skip to content

GTA 6 pre-orders: where to buy at $79.99, and when you pay

GTA 6 has been on pre-order since June 25, 2026 at $79.99, across Amazon, Walmart, Best Buy, Target, GameStop and the three official stores. Every one charges the same, so the choice comes down to when the money leaves and when the code arrives.

: Target's help page sets the charge at shipment, after a card hold placed 7 days before street date, so the Target row of the payment table now gives its date.

Woman perched on a green coupe's hood holding a revolver, man in a Hawaiian shirt standing beside her
Green coupe, revolver on the thigh: the pose is doing the talking. © Rockstar Games

GTA 6 has been on pre-order since June 25, 2026 at $79.99 for the Standard edition and $99.99 for the Ultimate, and no American retailer has moved off those figures: Robert Anderson counted five of them at $79.99 for IGN on June 25, 2026, and the three official stores ask the same. Two dates separate the stores instead, the day the card is charged and the day the code lands.

Grand Theft Auto VI has been on pre-order since June 25, 2026 on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, at $79.99 for the Standard Edition and $99.99 for the Ultimate. No American retailer has moved off that figure: Robert Anderson counted five of them at $79.99 for IGN on June 25, 2026, Amazon, Walmart, Best Buy, Target and GameStop, and the three official stores ask the same.

Two dates separate the stores instead: when the card is charged, and when the code lands. “Not disclosed” below means no source read as of October 8, 2026 documents the practice.

Where Standard Edition When the money leaves When the code lands
PlayStation Store $79.99 At checkout Preload from November 12
Microsoft Store $79.99 Wallet at once, card around November 9 Preload from November 12
Rockstar Store $79.99 At shipping, from November 12 Ships from November 12
Amazon $79.99 At shipment Delivery quoted November 12
Walmart $79.99 Not disclosed Delivery quoted November 12
Best Buy $79.99 At shipment Delivery quoted November 12
Target $79.99 At shipment Delivery quoted November 12
GameStop $79.99 Not disclosed Ships November 19

Microsoft’s help page, read September 20, 2026, splits the two cases: “If you use money in your Microsoft account, we’ll charge you right away. If you use any other payment option, including payment backup, we may charge you up to 10 days before the release date.” Release day is November 19, 2026, so the card goes around November 9, the calendar Adam Langumier laid out for Numerama on June 19.

The same page retries a declined card twice before cancelling, and refunds a cancellation made from Order history before November 19 with no download condition, where the PlayStation cutoff is preload day, November 12: our cancellation guide covers both. Microsoft’s price guarantee stops at the shelf: “The pre-order price guarantee only applies to physical pre-order items and prices offered at Microsoft Store. It does not apply to digital items from Microsoft Store.” GTA 6 sells there as a download, so the sum charged is the one written on the order.

Best Buy works the other way: “If the price of a pre-order item drops at the time of shipment, you will automatically be charged the lower price.” The $79.99 on the listing is a ceiling. Target’s help page, read October 8, 2026, places a new hold on the card 7 days before street date, then bills the price of shipping day: “You won’t be charged for your order until it ships or is ready for pickup.”

A GameStop box lands a week after preloading opens

Tabitha Baker checked the delivery promises for GamesRadar on June 29, 2026: Walmart, Best Buy and Amazon quote November 12, GameStop November 19. Take-Two set November 12 so the code could feed the preload: a GameStop code arrives once the servers are live.

Target writes the calendar into its own product title, read September 17, 2026: “Grand Theft Auto VI - PlayStation 5 (Code in Box, Delivers 11/12/26, Playable 11/19/26)”. The listing caps an order at two copies and excludes nine destinations.

The Rockstar Store charges at shipping

Rockstar’s own store, read September 17, 2026, ships the $79.99 box to twenty territories, the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom among them, and duties or local taxes may be added outside the United States and the United Kingdom. It hands physical orders to Xsolla, its fulfilment partner, whose pre-order policy sets the moment: “Your payment account will not be charged until the physical pre-order is ready to be shipped.” Shipping opens November 12, 2026, so the card is charged that day. Xsolla emails a warning two weeks ahead, around the end of October, and cancels any pre-order whose payment fails at release.

No store keeps the bonus to itself

Any pre-order or purchase grants the Vintage Vice City Pack whatever the edition and whatever the store, per Take-Two’s June 24, 2026 announcement. Microsoft’s listing, read September 17, 2026, sets the deadline to the second, “Purchase prior to 19 November 2026 23:59:59”, as does the American PlayStation Store. Brad Bourque compared the listings for The Verge on July 5, 2026.

There aren’t store-exclusive preorder bonuses, so you can buy from wherever you prefer without missing out on trinkets.

Close detail of a vintage sedan's fender showing the Stanier script and whitewall tire
A bodywork detail Rockstar released for the pre-order car that comes with every edition and every retailer. © Rockstar Games

No shop can sell you the Ultimate Edition

Rockstar’s support page is plain: “A physical version of the Grand Theft Auto VI: Ultimate Edition is not available.” The Ultimate sells only on the PlayStation Store and the Microsoft Store, and the $20.00 upgrade from a Standard box lands on the same total. Our Standard against Ultimate comparison goes through the extra content.

Vintage American sedan in green and gold flake paint with spade-pattern wheels, shot from low angle
Rideout Customs belongs to the Ultimate Edition, which no shop can stock: it exists only as a download. © Rockstar Games

The collector’s edition MediaMarkt ruled out on June 26, 2026, quoted by eTeknix, arrived on September 24: the Rockstar Store takes pre-orders for The Goodtime State, Vice City Collection at $399.99, one per customer, shipping from November 19, per Gamekult. “Grand Theft Auto VI game sold separately,” the listing says.

Where you buy decides where a PS5 code works

PS5 codes are region-locked: a code redeems only in the zone where it was bought, under the list Rockstar published in late July 2026, reported by Sherif Saed for Eurogamer on July 27. North America is one zone, so a Toronto code works on an American account, while a £69.99 box brought home from London will not. Xbox is exempt: “Xbox: Codes purchased are not region-locked.”

Stock runs out on key quotas, not on discs

Amazon ran out of PS5 boxes on day one, which Guillaume Henri put down to publisher key allocation for Les Numeriques on June 27, 2026: the box holds a code, not a disc. On September 14, 2026, both Amazon.com listings still held $79.99.

Keep reading

  1. NewsGTA 6 is $80, not $70: why Rockstar raised the base price
  2. DatabaseGTA 6 Ultimate Edition: all 16 items, only 2 to play
  3. DatabaseGTA 6 Stockyard: the Vice City district of 50+ street artists
  4. DatabaseGTA 6: Strauss Zelnick, the Take-Two boss, in his own words
  5. GuidesGTA 6 vs Red Dead Redemption 2: the side-by-side numbers

Our hardware picks

  • GTA 6 Standard Edition, PS5 boxed

    GTA 6 Standard Edition, PS5 boxed

    The boxed PS5 copy lands a week before launch, with a download code inside.

    • PS5
    • Standard Edition
    • boxed code
    • PS5
  • GTA 6 Standard Edition, Xbox Series X|S boxed

    GTA 6 Standard Edition, Xbox Series X|S boxed

    The Xbox box: the same Standard Edition as on PS5, redeemed as a download code.

    • Xbox
    • Standard Edition
    • boxed code
    • Xbox Series X|S

Read next

GTA 6 Standard Edition, PS5 boxed

See on Amazon